[Review] The Butterfly and the Violin written by Kristy Cambron

butterfly

Title: The Butterfly and the Violin
Author: Kristy Cambron
Publisher: Thomas Nelson
Date of Publication: 8 July 2014
Number of Pages: 329

Rating: 5 stars

Disclaimer: Copy provided free by NetGalley in exchange for an honest review

Summary: A Mysterious painting breathes hope and beauty into the darkest corners of Auschwitz–and the loneliest hearts of Manhattan.

Manhattan art dealer Sera James watched her world crumble at the altar two years ago, and her heart is still fragile. Her desire for distraction reignites a passion for a mysterious portrait she first saw as a young girl–a painting of a young violinist with piercing blue eyes.

In her search for the painting, Sera crosses paths with William Hanover–the grandson of a wealthy California real estate mogul–who may be the key to uncovering the hidden masterpiece. Together Sera and William slowly unravel the story behind the painting’s subject: Austrian violinist Adele Von Bron.

A darling of the Austrian aristocracy of 1942, talented violinist, and daughter to a high-ranking member of the Third Reich, Adele risks everything when she begins smuggling Jews out of Vienna. In a heartbeat, her life of prosperity and privilege dissolves into a world of starvation and barbed wire.

As Sera untangles the secrets behind the painting, she finds beauty in the most unlikely of places: the grim camps of Auschwitz and the inner recesses of her own troubled heart. [Goodreads]

Review: God plants the talent and it grows, sustained by a spirit-given strength to endure, even in the midst of darkness (location 3202).

The Butterfly and the Violin is the first in a series under the Hidden Masterpieces banner. There are two things I always wonder about when starting a series. One; will it be like Red Rising, over hyped but not that good in the end or two; will it be so good I need the next book immediately but can’t find a copy. In this case, it is the latter. I am desperate to read the next one and get to know Sera and William better.

Reviewing this book, however, is extraordinarily difficult because all I can do is praise The Butterfly and the Violin and Kristy Cambron. The book is lovely, kind, engaging, warm, touching, honest. I could go on but I think you get the idea. The Butterfly and the Violin also re-introduces you to the work of Mendelssohn and I am also grateful for that.

The Butterfly and the Violin connected with my heart in a way few other books ever have. While I have, on this blog, raved about other great books, none of them have moved me in the way this novel did. No book, for a long time, has caused me to forget my surroundings and become teary on a packed London tube train. I feel as though I was directed or called to read this book right now and who am I to argue.

For some readers, this book will not be for them. If you don’t like Christian fiction with a side line of romance, this isn’t the book for you. However, I wouldn’t have thought, a decade or even twelve months ago, this would be the type of book I would read and like either. If you give this book a chance, I think it will surprise you and you will be pleased at the impression it leaves on your heart.

Thank you for an amazing novel, Kristy. I cannot wait to read A Sparrow in Terezin.

[Image Source]

Leave a Reply

