[Review] The Girl With All The Gifts written by M.R. Carey

girl

Title: The Girl With All The Gifts
Author:  M.R. Carey
Publisher: Orbit
Date of Publication: 19 June 2014 (paperback)
Number of Pages: 460

Rating: 5 stars

Disclaimer: Independent Choice

Summary: Every morning, Melanie waits in her cell to be collected for class. When they come for her, Sergeant Parks keeps his gun pointing at her while two of his people strap her into the wheelchair. She thinks they don’t like her. She jokes that she won’t bite, but they don’t laugh. [Goodreads]

Review: Each time I begin writing a review for this book I stop and delete all the words. So much of what I type feels like a spoiler and as we all learnt from Firefly there are special levels of hell for certain types of people. Joss Whedon, praises Girl so need I really say more.

When I began reading Girl these were the only two things I knew in advance. I was curious of the content from when I first saw someone reading it. Bright yellow cover, a girl standing with her arms out, a blurb that runs to fifty one words and so much praise!! From the first page I was hooked. Carey, a writer with credits to his name such as DC Comics Lucifer,  Hellblazer, Neil Gaiman’s Neverwhere, Thirteen [Th1rt3en]  and Marvel’s Fantastic Four, X-Men and Thor to name a small few, Girl was never going to become unwieldy like some books of this genre.

It was only after finishing Girl that I discovered these writing credits and it explains why the book felt as though I was reading a fast moving screenplay and why it was so easy to envisage all the characters without ever getting pages of description.

The Girl With All The Gifts is so much fun and very worth reading.

Leave a Reply

