Find me in the library

Since I was small, my life has been all about the books, the library, the reading. So consumed was I by reading, now, too many years later to say, I can pinpoint the moment I started failing maths. So consumed am I by reading, those who know me will verify, the first thing I do when moving to a new place, is look at where the libraries are and then join one within a week of arriving. Even on holidays, I go to libraries. The picture to the left, in my sidebar, was taken in 2010 at the Bibliotheca Alexandrina. My flat mate will verify my addiction to books. I frequently say “I’m just going to take these back and not get anything else” only to arrive home with the same number as I have just returned. I need help but really, I don’t. In a world that worries about what everyone is addicted to, this is the least of the problem.

For the last four and a half years, I have had the great fortune of working in Senate House, home to the University of London and their amazing humanities library. Shamefully, I haven’t spent as much time in the stacks as I should have, nor in their comfortable reading rooms but it is a privilege to have access.

librarysenate

Senate House, University of London – Image Mine


Whatever happens in this world, I hope I can always find peace, seclusion and safety within the walls of a library. These places are special & should be preserved for all to enjoy. Those who seek to destroy these palaces of knowledge know the power contained within the walls and are cowards who fear that learning will show them for what they are. Ignorant. Today, let us be thankful for the libraries we have access to.

Leave a Reply

