Tom Rob Smith’s “The Farm”

17557913
For the pure pleasure of reading a book I selected myself, rather than one I have been approved for, I recently finished The Farm by Tom Rob Smith.

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
Date of Publication: 13 February 2014
Number of Pages: 400

Rating: 5 stars

Until the moment he received a frantic call from his father, Daniel believed his parents were headed into a peaceful, well-deserved retirement…: setting off to begin life anew on a remote, bucolic farm in rural Sweden…But with that phone call, everything changes.Then, he hears from his mother…Caught between his parents, and unsure of who to believe or trust, Daniel becomes his mother’s unwilling judge and jury as she tells him an urgent tale of secrets, of lies, of a horrible crime and a conspiracy that implicates his own father. [Goodreads]

For me, this book delivered exactly as the blurb reads. No more. No less. It was a fantastic trail of clues and deceits which culminated in an ending that is both sensible and honest. The ending works on multiple levels because it ignores what a Hollywood blockbuster would demand and delivers an ending that we, as normal readers, we can feel an affinity with. There are no tricks, no loopholes, no gimmicks. This felt like pure storytelling from a man who knew what it was to have experienced a similar situation and who knew exactly where he wanted the story to go.

I raved about The Farm to a colleague and loaned her my copy. My colleague is a workaholic. Unless she has made specific plans not to be at work, she is here in the office. At 11am yesterday, I received this text;

The Farm
If you knew my colleague you would understand why I’m so excited that she took time for herself. Tom Rob Smith has written a great story. I will be going back for more of his work and soon. *adds Child 44 et al to reading list*

Leave a Reply

