August in Review

Esther Freud, Kate Morton, Jen Campbell, Laline Paull, Rachel Urquhart

August picked up the reading tally and for the most part, all five were highly enjoyable. Kate Morton and Laline Paull are two authors I will be returning to in the future.

Mr Mac and Me written by Esther Freud – 3 stars
The Forgotten Garden written by Kate Morton – 5 stars – a lot of the online reviews I’ve found for this book are quite negative. While some of the flaws they point out are accurate, for me, however, I could overlook all of these because I know Paddington, Maryborough and London. Two of these three I have lived in and the other I have visited. Morton’s descriptions made me homesick quite a few times.
The Bookshop Book written by Jen Campbell – 3 stars
The Bees written by Laline Paull – 5 stars
The Visionist written by Rachel Urquhart – 2 stars

August Average = 3.6 stars

2 thoughts on “August in Review

  1. Interesting collection. I was planning to read The Bees soonish anyway, but your review of Mr Mac and Me made me curious. You make it sound like it could be some good atmospheric writing, really using the landscape surrounding the characters to create an impression. Were you able to ‘feel’ something of the Suffolk coast coming through while reading?

    • To be honest, the coastline could have been any coastline in the UK. I’m not overly familiar with the Suffolk coast but there didn’t seem to be anything that made it feel unique (to me). That’s probably not much help as an answer. It’s not a bad book, I just didn’t get anything out of it. The Bees though is fantastic. It’s a solid, strong read and it really comes together perfectly at the conclusion.

Leave a Reply

