A belated September in Review & October

Sept-Oct Reads

Posting my September reads back at the start of October passed me by. I don’t know where I was or why it didn’t happen but it hardly matters now.

The Returning Tide by Julie Sokota – 1 star
Northanger Abbey by Val McDermid – 2 stars
The Narrow Road to the Deep North by Richard Flanagan – 5 stars [also current winner of best book of 2015]
The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon – 4 stars but I am thinking about down grading it slightly.
The True & Splendid History of the Harristown Sisters by Michelle Lovric – 4 stars – This was a hard read to get into. It didn’t feel like it was going anywhere and then all of a sudden there were many things happening and you felt completely consumed by the story. A pleasing slow burner.
Mystery Inc. by Joyce Carol Oates – 2 stars – I feel I may have missed the point of this short story. It could be a symptom of me not liking short stories in general though.
The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins – 2 stars – over hyped and under whelming.
Yes Please by Amy Poehler – 4 stars – I can see why some people haven’t liked this book and I can see why some people have. I obviously enjoyed it but one thing I have to say is that autobiographies are, for me, just another form of fiction. The writer is still only telling you what they want you to know. Biographies are not much better.

24 stars out of a possible 40
Average – 2 stars (I honestly didn’t think it would be this low. What a slack two months…)

Leave a Reply

