In Which I Read The Book of Strange New Things by Michel Faber and Had Some OPINIONS About It

These Little Words

My sister gave me this book for my birthday, so I really really wanted to like it. I’d heard a lot of good things. I wasn’t sure what I’d think of it. I went in with hope.

Some basic premise for those who don’t know: our main character is Peter the priest, who is recruited by an anonymous corportation called USIC to be a pastor for some aliens on a planet where they have a base, as the last pastor disappeared/possibly died.

Peter’s wife Bea wants to come too, but she doesn’t pass USIC’s tests. So, they are separated by a gazillion miles and can only communicate via intergalactic email. It’s pretty rubbish for them, but they are filled with sweet hope and God’s love. They think it’s going to be ok.

IMG_7535 2015 Canongate paperback

First of all, having now finished the book, I still can’t work out why a…

View original post 708 more words

Leave a Reply

